Members Retirees Employers
  • Change font size: 
  • A
  • A
  • A

The SERS Leadership Team is committed to administering the direction set by the Board of Trustees and is responsible for day-to-day operations of the system.

  [Read More...]

undefinedLisa Morris
Executive Director
Joined SERS: 2004

Lisa J. Morris was named the Executive Director of the SERS in October 2010. Morris had fulfilled the duties of Interim Executive Director since the retirement of James R. Winfree in April 2010.

With this appointment, Morris became just the sixth Executive Director since the System’s founding in 1937. Her duties include maintaining external relations with the legislature, the governor’s office, advocacy groups, member employers, active members, and retirees, as well as managing the plan’s day-to-day operations under the direction of the Retirement Board.

Morris joined SERS as Deputy Executive Director in 2004. She was instrumental in leading the staff in SERS’ Strategic Planning and Change-Ready Culture Initiatives over the past three years.

Before joining SERS, Morris spent more than 20 years in public sector management and leadership, including several years as Ohio’s chief mining regulator and also as director of Ohio’s clean water programs. This public service followed several years in the private practice of law in civil litigation. Throughout most of her career, Morris has also been active in animal welfare and community service.

Morris received an undergraduate degree in history from the College of Wooster and a juris doctor from Case Western Reserve University School of Law.


undefinedHelen Ninos
Deputy Executive Director
Joined SERS: 2011

Helen Ninos joined SERS as the Deputy Executive Director in 2011. She is responsible for the administration of SERS’ Member Services, Health Care, Finance, Information Technology, Administration, and Human Resources departments. SERS has a staff of approximately 175 people.

Ninos was previously employed at the Office of the Ohio Attorney General where she worked as Chief Operating Officer – Human Resources and Chief of Workers Compensation, Chief of Civil Rights, Assistant Chief of Civil Rights, and Labor Counsel. In addition, she has served as the Chief Operating Officer at United Way of Central Ohio, Chief of Staff at the Columbus City Attorney’s Office, and Associate General Counsel for Employment and Human Resources at The Ohio State University.

She earned her BA in Political Science from West Virginia University and her Juris Doctor from the University of Pittsburgh, School of Law.

Her community involvement includes serving as President of the Franklin County Developmental Disabilities Board. In her capacity at the Attorney General’s Office, she served as Secretary of the Central Benefits Foundation Board and was a member of the Governor’s Council on Women and Girls.


Leadership Staff 

John Grumney
Director – Member Services 

Anne Jewel
Director – Health Care


Farouki A. Majeed
Chief Investment Officer

Joseph M. Marotta
General Counsel
Tracy Valentino
Chief Financial Officer

Jay Patel
Chief Technology Officer

Matthew Sanders
Director - Administrative Services

Michelle Miller
Director - Human Resources



The term of the office for elected members is four years and begins on July 1.

  [Read More...]

Barbra M. Phillips, Chairundefined

Term Expires 6/30/2017

Barbra Phillips is serving her third term on the Board.

Phillips works for Ashland City Schools as a bus driver for disabled students and is an OBI instructor. She is president of OAPSE Local 233, President of the Ashland/Wayne/Holmes Central Labor Council AFL-CIO, and Executive Board member of N.E. Area Labor Federation AFL-CIO.

Madonna D. Faragher, Vice Chair

Term Expires 6/30/2019

Dee Faragher is serving her third term on the Board.

Faragher is a school bus driver and currently works for Westlake City Schools. She has served as OAPSE Local 276 president and OAPSE Northeast District treasurer.


James Haller
Term Expires 6/30/2017
James Haller is serving his first term on the Board.
Haller is a custodial/maintenance worker at Lima City Schools, where he has served for nearly three decades. He also has been a member of OAPSE for 27 years, and currently serves as chairman of the organization's Budget Committee. In addition, he has served as vice president representing Allen County for the Northwest Ohio Central Labor Council.
Haller is a graduate of Lima Technical College.

Christine Holland

Term Expires 6/30/2019

Chris Holland is serving her second term on the Board.

Holland is a secretary for the Oregon City Schools in the Administration Building since 1989. She has served on  the OAPSE Executive Board, OAPSE State Budget Committee and OAPSE State Nominating  Committee. She has also been an officer at both the OAPSE district level and local level. Holland also has been involved in many different committees for the Oregon City Schools.

Catherine P. Moss

Term Expires 6/30/2020

Catherine Moss is serving her fourth term on the Board.

Moss is an Administrative Secretary to the Director for Student Success in the College Readiness and Student Success Division at Lakeland Community College. She retired in 1997 after 30 years with the West Geauga Local Schools, where she also served as President of OAPSE Local 255. She currently serves as Treasurer of AFSCME 1184 Subchapter 120 and is on the Board of Directors of the Kidney Foundation of Lake County.

Moss is a long-time member of the School Employee Retirees of Ohio (SERO).

James Rossler, Jr.
Appointed Member

Term Expires 11/4/2016

The Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives and the President of the Ohio Senate reappointed James Rossler, Jr.  as an investment expert to the SERS Board. He is treasurer of the Rossford Exempted Village School System, near Toledo, regional past president of the OASBO, and previously served on the SERS Board from October 2004 to June 2005.

Rossler received his BS degree in management from the University of Toledo and his MBA  from the University of Findlay.

Daniel L. Wilson
Appointed Member

Term Expires 9/27/2020

Daniel L. Wilson was appointed to the Board by the Governor. He is Chief Financial Officer for the Mentor Exempted Village Board of Education, where he has worked since 2004. Wilson has more than 42 years of experience in the fiscal management of Ohio public schools.

This is Wilson’s fourth term on the SERS Board.

Wilson is the Past-President of the Ohio Association of School Business Officials and the Past Chairman of the Foundation for School Business Management.

Beverly A. Woolridge

Term Expires 6/30/2019

Beverly A. Woolridge is serving her second term on the Board, her first as a retiree member.

She retired in 2014 as Administrative Secretary Emeritus, after 39 years of service with Akron Public Schools.

She has held memberships in the Akron Association of Classified Professionals (local), the Ohio Education Association, and the National Education Association. She currently serves as a member of the Northeast Ohio Education Association (region) on the ESP Organizing and Credentials Committees.

Woolridge is a graduate of The University of Akron and a member of the state and local chapters of School Employee Retirees of Ohio (SERO).

Appointed Member